Music of the Moment: January 7, 2015

I have a lot of music suggestions scattered throughout some previous posts (see some of my favorites here), but this will be the first of many dedicated entirely to music. As I mentioned before, I love music. Those who know me know I like a variety of music and sometimes bizarre sounds. My sister once asked me if I was a closet druggie after I sent her some music I liked. Well no, I’m not a druggie, but music does give me a natural high. I like a lot of unusual stuff that isn’t widely known, but I’m not averse to mainstream bands either. If you don’t like this batch of songs, stick around, because I’m likely to go a completely different direction next time.

The stuff I post won’t always be new, but I’ll try to keep it worthwhile. You know those songs that just grab you? Yeah, those.

Gold (Flume re work) by Chet Faker

I might as well be in a garden
I said a
A smell in the air is a dripping rose (you could be the one for me)
Another soul to meet my void then
Of anything bare that’s made of gold

The original version of this song is fab and all, but this version is what turned it to gold (for me anyway). This song is such an alluring description of love. Dazzling, bewitching, transforming. We approach it with the best of intentions, but we can’t help but be greedy when it’s in our reach. Oh, and the song just sounds flippin’ cool.

Ms by Alt-J

The nights of all my youth pressed into one glass of water
Scattered truths, bewildered beast boohoos
We have our weight: ten thousand ladybirds
All the vowels vow to guard your name
Keep your estate clean, happy
Some things lie too deep for tears to well

There is nothing every-day about this guy’s voice. Their songs feel like dreams. I’m obsessed with their new album, but this song came along before they started to get a lot of attention and it deserves some attention of its own. You could never call their songs straight-forward, but that’s part of what I like about them. They’re open for interpretation. To me, this one is definitely about the grief and immediate aftermath of losing someone. Emotions are beautiful things and Alt-J always seems to nail that with their beautiful imagery.

Wildest Dreams by Taylor Swift

I can see the end as it begins, my one condition is
Say you’ll remember me
Standing in a nice dress, staring at the sunset, babe
Red lips and rosy cheeks
Say you’ll see me again, even if it’s just in your wildest dreams

This is easily the best track on her recently-released album 1989. The nostalgic and seductive tone of this song just gets me. When I caved and bought this entire album, this single song made it worth it. Have a listen.

Aware by Leland

Unapologetic
This shit I own it

This song is all about the sound, but the lyrics are fun. Move on, have fun, feel, be yourself, and be unapologetic about it. I’m generally not a huge fan of music videos, but this one is kind of hilarious and unexpectedly cute. I dare you to try to listen to this song without dancing. Running playlist. Click. Add.

Leave a comment